Grade 2 Healthy Snacking Unit

Here is the outline I made for a Health Unit that I will be teaching on Healthy Snacking. The Learning Plan hasn’t yet been divided into individual daily plans as I will be doing that more as I get to know my students and will have a better idea of pacing. Also, I haven’t included any of the activity sheets because they wouldn’t add into my google doc!

I once again, am disappointed by the formatting when converting my document to wordpress. The original document is much more user friendly and eye pleasing, ha. Here is the link to my google doc that I originally created this unit in!


Healthy Snacking Unit

Name: Stacey Mamer

Grade: 2

Subject: Health Education


Stage 1: Begin With The End in Mind

Big Ideas: What do we want students to remember 40 years from now?

The Food and Drink That I Consume Affects My Well Being

Goals

Goal 1:

Develop the understanding, skills, and confidences necessary to take action to improve health.

Goal 2:

Make informed decisions based on health-related knowledge.

Goal 3:

 Apply decisions that will improve personal health and/or the health of others.

Outcomes

Outcome: USC2.2: Determine how healthy snacking practices influence personal health.

Outcome: AP2.1: Act upon health-related understandings, skills, and confidences to make healthy connections related to personal thoughts-feelings-actions, healthy snacking, affects of illness/disease, respect, safety, and diversity.

Indicators

I Can Statements

USC2.2:

a. Develop a common understanding and use of respectful language used to talk about snacking (e.g., diet, food, preferences, likes/ dislikes, energy, healthy/unhealthy, sugar, portions).

B. Investigate the role food and water play in being healthy (e.g., food – energy; vitamins – growth; water – 2/3 of one’s body composition, regulates body temperature, eliminates waste).

C. Discuss how to determine if a snack is healthy/unhealthy (e.g., reflect on what is known, gather information).

D. Examine, sample, and describe (i.e., taste, look, smell, feel, sound) a variety of healthy snacks.

E. Investigate benefits of healthy snacking (including but not limited to growth and development, increased concentration, healthy weight, improved oral health).

F. Illustrate how healthy snacking provides sustained energy throughout the day.

G. Examine why people choose particular snacks (e.g., culture, cost, preference, availability, media).

H. Recognize a variety of snacking patterns (e.g., three meals/day with a few snacks, times of day/night for snacking).

i. Examine personal preferences for snacking (e.g., class survey).

AP2.1:

a. Ask questions and explore possible answers regarding the steps needed to take action (e.g., What will be done? Who will do it? When will it happen? Where will it take place? How will it be done?).

B. Demonstrate, with guidance, asking for help with the action to be taken.

C. Document the action that was taken.

D. Reflect on the action (e.g., What did I do well? What did I learn? How could I be better?) in order to guide future application.

a. I can use health vocabulary to talk about snacking. (e.g. portions, energy, etc.)

b. I can investigate how food and water help keep my body healthy.

c. I can talk about what makes a snack healthy or unhealthy.

d. I can examine a variety of healthy snacks. I can sample a variety of healthy snacks. I can describe what makes snacks healthy.

e. I can search how healthy snacking makes me feel better.

f. I can show how my energy level is affected by healthy snacking.

g. I can explain why people choose different snacks.

h. I can recognize that people snack at different times.

i. I can list different ways that people in my class snack.

AP2.1:

a. I can  ask good questions about applying an action. (who, what , when, where, how). I can suggest good answers to these questions.

b. I can demonstrate asking for help for my action plan.

c. I can record my plan.

d. I can reflect on my plan: What did I do well? What did I learn? How could I be better?).

Understandings What do we hope students will come to understand as a result of learning? Think: Students will understand that…

Essential Questions Questions for deeper understanding that invite deep thinking about the ideas and issues throughout the unit.

Making healthy snack choices is important to one’s health.

What is a healthy snack?

Why is healthy snacking important?

Why do we choose the snacks we choose?

Students need to know: What is essential knowledge for students to have in order to demonstrate their understanding of the outcomes?

And be able to do: What should they eventually be able to do as a result of their learning experiences in order to achieve the outcome? Should reference the indicators. Think: verb.

Healthy snacks

Unhealthy snacks

Diet

Preferences

Sugar

Portions

-Develop a common understanding of use of respectful language used to talk about snacking (e.g., diet, food, preference, lies/dislikes, energy, healthy/unhealthy, sugar, portions).

– Investigate the role food and water play in being healthy (e.g., food-energy; vitamins-growth; water-2/3 of one’s body composition, regulates body temperature, eliminates waste).

-Discuss how to determine if a snack is healthy/unhealthy (e.g., reflect on what is known, gather information).

-Examine, sample, and describe (i.e., taste, look, smell, fell, sound) a variety of healthy snacks.

– Investigate benefits of healthy snacking (including but not limited to growth and development, increased concentration, healthy weight, improved oral health).

– Illustrate how healthy snacking provides sustained energy throughout the day. -Examine why people choose particular snacks (e.g., culture, cost, preference, availability, media).

– Recognize a variety of snacking patterns (e.g., three meals/day with a few snacks, times of day/night for snacking).


Stage 2: Critical Evidence of Understanding

Formative Assessment Through what multiple sources of evidence will students demonstrate their understanding on a daily basis?

Summative Assessment In an assessment of what students know and can do according to the outcomes. It is a snapshot in time, used for reporting.

1. Pre-Assessment: Brainstorm about healthy snacks

2. Healthy vs Unhealthy lunch Sorting

3. Food tasting recording sheet.

4. Added Sugar Drink recording sheet.

1. Lunch Item examination- students will choose one item from their lunch and explain how they know if it is healthy or unhealthy

2. Tasting different food samples: Have the students choose one of the samples and complete a description of it.  

3. Meal Plan: -have students create a daily meal plan of 3 meals and snacks using pictures or words

-have students describe this in a conversation

AP 2.1:

  1. Action plan: plan, record, reflection

 


Stage 3: Learning Plan

The learning plan should guide your day-to-day operations based on the natural order of learning experiences necessary to achieves the outcomes by all students.

Lesson &

I Can Statement

Lesson Overview

Assessment

1. Introductory Lesson- Healthy Snacking Vocabulary

a. I can use health vocabulary to talk about snacking. (e.g. portions, energy, etc.)

-Introduce upcoming unit about healthy snacking

-Brainstorm “what is a healthy snack?” (Pre-Assessment)

-Record

-Play bingo with healthy snacking vocabulary (ex: diet, food, preferences, likes/ dislikes, energy, healthy/unhealthy, sugar, portions)

-Prior to playing, discuss what each word means

-Brainstorm about healthy snacks

2. Benefits of Healthy Snacking/Role of Food and Water

b. I can investigate how food and water help keep my body healthy.

c. I can talk about what makes a snack healthy or unhealthy.

e. I can search how healthy snacking makes me feel better.

f. I can show how my energy level is affected by healthy snacking

-Brainstorm why we must eat healthy

-Record

-Prompt to cover these areas: growth and development, increased concentration, healthy weight, improved oral health

food – energy; vitamins – growth; water – 2/3 of one’s body composition, regulates body temperature, eliminates waste

-example: on Halloween when you eat too much candy- feel sick, etc

-Talk about how to know if a food is healthy or not: fresh, not packaged, fruits and vegetables, no added sugar, on Canada’s Food Guide, etc

-Introduce Canada’s Food Guide

-Also include Canada’s FNMI Food Guide

-Show students on smart board how to read food labels

-Do Healthy vs Unhealthy sorting activity

-Have students examine one piece of food from their lunch and explain why it is healthy of unhealthy

-observation of conversation

-Healthy vs Unhealthy lunch Sorting

-Lunch Item examination

3. Investigating Healthy Snacks

d. I can examine a variety of healthy snacks. I can sample a variety of healthy snacks. I can describe what makes snacks healthy.

D. Examine, sample, and describe (i.e., taste, look, smell, feel, sound) a variety of healthy snacks

-Bring in samples of several healthy fruits and vegetables and do a taste test as well as describe together as a class.

-Have students do the fruit and vegetable taste test recording sheet as they taste the different samples.

-Have the students choose one of the samples and complete a description of it.

-Have the students choose one of the samples and complete a description of it.

-Taste test recording sheet

4. Snacking Patterns and Choices

g. I can explain why people choose different snacks.

h. I can recognize that people snack at different times.

i. I can list different ways that people in my class snack.

-Talk about why people choose different snacks: e.g., culture, cost, preference, availability, media

-Talk about how media influences what snacks we choose, show a commercial making unhealthy food look good

-Talk about how it is healthy to eat 3 meals a day with snacks, and not eating too late at night, importance of breakfast

-Do veggie and fruit class survey  

-observation

5. Examining Added Sugar in Drinks

-explain that foods have natural sugars but should try to avoid added sugar

-talk about how much water to drink in a day (5  glasses for a second grader)

-should only have 8 added teaspoons a day

-have 8 teaspoons prepared in a bag and show students how much it is

-examine added sugar in water, chocolate milk, juice, and pop.

-Do the recording sheet as a class

-observation

-review of added sugar recording sheet

6. Meal Planning

-incorporates almost all I cans

-Review Canada’s food guide and healthy eating practices (3 meals, and snacks)

-have students create a daily meal plan of 3 meals and snacks using pictures or words

-have students describe this in a conversation

Meal Plan summative assessment

6. Action Plan

AP2.1:

a. I can  ask good questions about applying an action. (who, what , when, where, how). I can suggest good answers to these questions.

b. I can demonstrate asking for help for my action plan.

c. I can record my plan.

d. I can reflect on my plan: What did I do well? What did I learn? How could I be better?).

-discuss own eating habits with a partner

-return to food guide and ask students if they think they meet their daily recommendation for fruits and vegetables

-ask them what they can do to meet that recommendations (indicator a)

-talk about what an action plan is

-have students make an action plan to eat their daily recommendation of fruits and vegetables

-have students record their plan (differentiate as needed)

-do the plan over 5 days while recording

-at the end of the 5 days, reflect on how successful plan was

-Action plan recording and reflection.

 


Resources

Teacher Resources:

1. Teaching Nutrition in Saskatchewan: This is a really good resource that connects health outcomes from grades 1-3 to concepts, background information, activities, and resources:

http://supporting-health-education.wikispaces.com/file/view/Teaching%20Nutrition%20in%20SK%20-%20August%202013.pdf/448578560/Teaching%20Nutrition%20in%20SK%20-%20August%202013.pdf 

2. Supporting Health Education- this has several resources planned for the Saskatchewan curriculum- see the 10 healthy eating goals. This also  has a link to a list of I Can statements for the whole grade 2 health curriculum

http://supporting-health-education.wikispaces.com/Health+2 

3. TPT Resource Package: this has lots of activities and handouts relevant to this unit and where I found lots of the activities planned.

Student Resources:

Gregory, the Terrible Eater

by Mitchell Sharmat

I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato (Charlie and Lola)

by Lauren Child

How Did That Get In My Lunchbox?: The Story of Food

by Chris Butterworth

It’s Disgusting and We Ate It! True Food Facts from Around the World and Throughout History

by James Solheim

The Boy Who Loved Broccoli

by Sarah A. Creighton

The Seven Silly Eaters

by Mary Ann Hoberman

Green Eggs and Ham

by Dr. Seuss

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

